About A.B.L.ECommunityEventsCareersContact

News Programs
A.B.L.E. Committees

20th Anniversary ABLE Ball20th Anniversary ABLE Ball


ABLE's Presidents speak at the Awards Ball

"you should take complicated things and make them simple to enrich others" @YRP Inspector _ President of @ABLE_org Keith Merith #ABLEball

"care about the cause... Of justice... Of equality... Of freedom..." Roy Smiley #ABLEball

"over the past 20 years, we have given over 100 scholarships" talking about the impact of ABLE in the community @YRP Inspector Chris Bullen #ABLEball

Keynote Speaker... Founding Member of @ABLE_org David Mitchell

Congratulations to our 2012 Scholarship Recipients.

Chelsea Osei
Edward Agyeman
Jemmy Erhiaganoma
Jesse Hector
Kimberly Khrys'an Cross
Shanika Gordon

Over our twenty years this organization has provided over $130,000.00 in scholarship funding to 111 Black and other minority students. We are extremely proud of this monumental achievement. We are delighted by this year’s six award recipients who certainly exemplify the finest in our community.

Scholarship Fund Contributors
A special Thanks to: Mr. Osborne Barnwell, Dr. Lancelot Brown, Dr. Sheridan Cyrus, Andrew’s Formals, Mr. John Peters, The Ontario Provincial Police Commissioned Officers Association, Mr. B. Denham Jolly, Humber College, Mr. Jay Hope, Mr. Nelson Cardoza, Mr. Raj Paul, Scotia Bank, Mr. Louis Adams, Planet Africa, Mr. Justice Bronskill, Ms. Tanya Ramsarran

Membership Promotions
David Mitchell – Regional Director of Probation and Parole
Jennifer Alphonso – Deputy Superintendent of Programs at the Mimico Correctional Centre

Membership Retirements
Jay Hope – Retired Deputy Minister of Corrections
Noreen Alleyne – Retired Provincial Commander,
Corporate Services Bose Sookdeosingh – Retired Regional Director of Probation and Parole

Super Supporter Awards Presented to...

Andrews Formals - Exceeding Formal Wear Needs

Dr.Cyrus Dentist


Dr. Lancelot Brown, Dentist


at the 2012 ABLE Awards Ball

  • The Hon. Margret Best Minister of Consumer Services
  • Chris D. Lewis – Commissioner OPP
  • Eric Jolliffe – Chief of Police York Regional Police
  • William (Bill) Blair – Chief of Police – Toronto Police Service
  • Jay Hope – (Ret.) Deputy Minister of Correctional Services
  • Alok K. Mukherjee – TPS Board Chair
  • Noreen Alleyne – (Ret.) Bureau Commander OPP
  • Glenn DeCaire – Chief of Police - Hamilton Police Service
  • H. M. Metcalf – Chief of Police –Peel Regional Police
  • Gary Crowell – Chief of Police – Halton Regional Police
  • Peter Sloly – Deputy Chief of Police TPS 
  • Steve Small, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Community Safety _ Correctional Services
  • Fiona Crean – City of Toronto Ombudsman
  • Counsellor Michael Thompson
  • Moses Mawa, CEO Planet Africa
  • Patricia Bebia Mawa, Producer and Host of Planet Africa
  • Paul Martin Deputy Chief of Police, Durham Region
  • Mr. Stan MacClellan Strategic Administrative Officer-Durham Regional Police
  • Lesley Ford Human Resources Manager, Durham Regional Police.
  • Delores Lawrence, President _ CEO of Nursing _ Homemakers Inc.
  • Maureen Emanuel ReMax Sales Agent and ABLE supporter
  • Audrey Walters Immediate Past President of the BBPA and Conservative Party candidate in the past federal election
  • Denise Dwyer, Director of Legal Services Ministry of Community Safety _ Correctional Services
  • Margret Parsons, Executive Director African Canadian Legal Clinic
  • Inspector Sonia Thomas, Toronto Police Service
  • Christine Williams – Vice President Scotia Bank
  • Members of the Jamaican Canadian Association Executive
  • Dr. _ Mrs Leroy McLean – Consul General of Barbados
  • Steve Phillip, Consul General of St. Vincent _ the Grenadines
  • Dr. Frank Trovato, University of Guelph Humber
  • Mr. Bose Sookdeosingh, Regional Director Retired – Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services
  • Rose Buhagiar, Director Toronto South Detention Centre
  • Tracey Timoll, Superintendent Toronto East Detention Centre
  • Zolton Polya, Superintendent Central East Correctional Centre
  • Donata Calitri-Bellus, Deputy Superintendent Toronto East Detention Centre
  • Ann White, Deputy Superintendent Toronto East Detention Centre